top of page

writings from 

the womb

 

  • Writer's picturemichi

Womb Connection

[woÍžom]NOUN

  1. the organ in the lower body of a woman (and some transmen!) or female mammal where offspring are conceived and in which they gestate before birth; the uterus.

Womb Worker; A title that came to me during a very difficult yet profound cycle. When I bleed it is a Sacred Work. I am devoting all of my awareness and energy into purifying my body. I became amazed by my body and the intelligent technology that it innately was born with. So I sank deep within my body and asked, why is my Womb becoming so important to me?


The Womb is a Scared Space because for me, this is where I can connect with the Divine. It is a bodily portal for cosmic and early energies to enter. It is a gateway for me to release onto the Earth. In my Womb I feel the immense life-giving power within my body. It is here in this space that so much Wisdom naturally flows.


The average menstruating person has 450 cycles in their lifetime. I have had mine for 15 years and I am just now understanding what it truly means to Bleed. I have been told I probably have POS, cysts, fibroids or a hormonal imbalance. Because I cannot necessarily afford a blood work panel, I have learned to tune-in to my body and listen. Every month, I learn a bit more. I have learned to TRUST my body and not let fear control me.


Since I started being mindful of what I consume (food, drink, or otherwise), my pain has significantly decreased. Things as simple as limiting salt and coffee the week prior to bleeding, increasing my water intake, eating iron rich foods, and a magnesium supplement every couple of days has made an incredible difference. I have also developed deep relationships plants that help my symptoms: Jamaican Dogwood, Nettle, Rose, Black Haw, Cramp Bark, Black Cohosh, Kava, Ginger (more on these allies in another post!).

I now see my Cycle as an immense blessing. It forces me to stop what I am doing and focus on my needs. This is a time for me to slow down and truly dive in to self-care. I can get very caught up with what other people want or need from me, leaving very little energy for myself. My Womb asks me to go within and truly shed what has been building up inside of me the past month. I have also made a great effort to create a lifestyle where this is possible. I remember being embarrassed to tell previous employers the truth about why I was calling out of work. Why do we live in a society that shames people that bleed!? Why are we not supported in our healing processes?

The Womb is a vessel for insights to collect, for inspiration to flow from, and for healing to occur. It is my deepest wish that all people with Wombs that bleed truly honor themselves and their cycles in a more ceremonial way. When we honor ourselves, we naturally want to do the same to others. We begin to awaken within us a recognition of divinity because we are more clear, more centered, and more connected.


bottom of page