top of page

writings from 

the womb

 

  • Writer's picturemichi

International Women's Day

In honor & reverence of Women everywhere, I celebrate Y O U (today & everyday)!



35 mm shot of sisters at the Goddess Temple June 2018

Can you feel the collective energy today? If you sit still you can tap into this current of fierce feminine flow. Women all over the planet are celebrating themselves & one another. Sisters, today is a day we are globally holding space to honor these bodies. Now of course, every single day we should celebrate ourselves and each other, but there is something magical today - we are all intentionally connecting through a global acknowledgement of what it means for us to be W O M E N.


Each of us have our own perspectives and experiences in these bodies that we call

W O M A N, and that should be respected. For me, this body of mine is sacred, it allows me to move through the world. The lens I look through to experience life with is

W O M A N, is F E M I N I N E. I see cycles and rhythms, I move through dark and light in each moment, I bleed with the lunar cycle, I commune with the space wherever I am, I feel the magik in the mundane. My experience of this life has been shaped by my physical body.


As a woman (like so many of us) I have suffered abused because of my body. I have been disrespected and underrated countless of times. But something shifted for me when I began to gather with other women. When sisters gather, we remember. I started to feel my power, my innate strength - because of my body. And because of my reflection in the women around me. I am amazed that sacred human body bleeds every month and does not die, it can create and sustain life, it will give birth one day and nurture another living being, it can carry the weight of the world and move with the lightness of the breeze. This body is my home, and I honor it by reclaiming what it means to be a woman.


There is medicine in this woman body that has the capacity to transform the everyday experience. That is why I am so deeply enamored by the Menstrual Cycle! Our bodies have a build in ceremonial technology that gives us the ability to connect with the world around us in profound ways. Women are medicine when given the space to fully express ourselves and when we are honored for how we show up. This International Women's Day I ask you, how do you show us as a Woman; for yourself, your sisters, your family, your ancestors, your community? What is your Medicine to the world?


Embodied and Empowered Women are absolutely crucial to the evolution of humanity right now. We hold innate abilities to nurture things into being, into reality. This is how a more compassionate planet will rise up from the ashes of destructive patriarchal ways. Women are needed right now, for the sake of the entire planet. Our highest calling is to help this Earth heal, because W O M E N are capable of that honor.


I hope you spend some time this evening with yourself, feeling deeply your womanhood. Honor yourself for choosing your body and celebrate who you are with some sacred self care. Maybe gather in circle with your closest sisters and share some words of appreciation. I will be making an offering to Mother Ocean with my beloved tonight, for all of us.


Love from my Womb to Yours,

Michi


For a her.story of International Women's Day please click here!


bottom of page